Family in front of the reliquary of Saints Louis and Zelie

Come on pilgrimage

The Shrine of Alençon welcomes you every day of the jubilee year. Come discover, alone or in a group, the different places where the Martin Family lived by participating in an event, by gathering in the chapel, or by following the footsteps of the holy Martin spouses throughout the city.

help

Help us

The Shrine exists thanks to the offerings of the pilgrims and to the generosity of its sponsors. It also operates thanks to the many volunteers who donate their time.

    There are many means available for you to help the shrine:
  • You can serve as a volunteer for one or many events or for some specific tasks.
  • You can sustain us financially by giving on a regular basis or from time to time to the various projects of the Shrine.
  • You can pass along the information by spreading the means of communication of the Shrine through social media in your parish.
  • You can pray for the intentions of the Shrine and for all the pilgrims who come to gather there.

Shooting

News

Jubile of Saints Louis and Zelie : we talk about it !

Saints Louis and Zélie

Pray

Saints Louis and Zelie lived holiness in the ordinary life of a married couple and a family. Their exemple show us how to go deeper in our prayer life.

Choir

Resources

Resources to download and share.

slide précédenteslide suivante
jubilee banner

What is a jubilee?

A jubilee is a great celebration in the Catholic Church that celebrates an event, a particular anniversary.
It was Pope Boniface VIII who inaugurated the first jubilee of history in the year 1300. History shows with what enthusiasm the people of God have always lived the jubilee years, seeing in them a circumstance where the invitation of Jesus to conversion is heard more intensely. We remember especially the last jubilee of Mercy (2015-2016) or that of the Year 2000.
In the same way that the Pope inaugurates Jubilees for the Universal Church, each bishop can do it, on the occasion of a particular celebration, in his diocese.

Why a jubilee at Alençon ?

Alençon is first and foremost the wedding site of Saints Louis and Zélie: after having met in Alençon on the Sarthe bridge in the spring of 1858, they were married at the city hall on July 12 at 10 pm and at midnight at the Church of Notre-Dame (now Basilica).
It was then in Alençon that the nine children of the Martin family were born. It is after all the place of family life until the death of Zélie in 1877.

The Church wanted to give Saints Louis and Zélie Martin as an example to all the couples and families of today: it is for this reason that they were canonized by Pope Francis, just two years ago, on October 18, 2015. This is the first married couple canonized together in the history of the Church.

This jubilee of the 160th anniversary of their marriage will give all the faithful the opportunity to discover the lives of Saints Louis and Zélie at the very places where they lived. Pilgrims will be able to receive the special graces related to each Jubilee Year.

This jubilee will also give more opportunity to know about Saints Louis and Zélie. Given that they are the parents of St. Therese of Lisieux, the illustrious « greatest saint of modern times » (St. Pope Pius X), the Christian people are invited to discover further the life of this couple that is still little known.

Receive the Plenary Indulgence

A plenary indulgence is a grace offered by God for one-self or for someone deceased. It will be possible to receive it at the Shrine of Alençon during the Jubilee Year. It is a reparation, a removal of all of the temporal punishment due to sin.

In order to receive it, the faithful must be in a state of grace, be disposed interiorly to the complete detachment from sin; to have confessed, to have received the Holy Eucharist, to pray for the intentions of the Holy Father, and to make a pious pilgrimage to the Shrine of Alençon during the Jubilee Year.

Opening Jubilee

Pèlerinage des familles 2018

Shower of Roses

Pluie de Roses 2018

coup de main

Aider

Le Sanctuaire vit grâce aux offrandes des pèlerins et à la générosité de ses donateurs. Il fonctionne aussi grâce aux nombreux bénévoles, qui lui donnent de leur temps.

    Plusieurs moyens sont à votre disposition pour aider le sanctuaire :
  • Vous pouvez vous engager en tant que bénévole sur un ou plusieurs évènements ou pour des missions précises.
  • Vous pouvez nous soutenir financièrement en donnant régulièrement ou ponctuellement pour les différents projets du Sanctuaire.
  • Vous pouvez être des relais en diffusant les supports de communication du Sanctuaire sur les réseaux sociaux, dans votre paroisse.
  • Vous pouvez prier aux intentions du Sanctuaire et pour les pèlerins qui viennent s'y recueillir.

tournage film

Echos

Le Jubilé des saints Louis et Zélie : on en parle dans les médias et chez nous !

Saints Louis et Zélie Martin

Prier

Les saints Louis et Zélie ont vécu la sainteté dans l'ordinaire d'une vie conjugale et familiale. Leur exemple peut nous aider à approfondir notre vie de prière.

chorale

Ressources

Ressources téléchargeables à diffuser dans vos réseaux.

Famille devant reliques des saints Louis et Zélie

Venir

Le Sanctuaire d'Alençon vous accueille tous les jours de l'année jubilaire. Venez découvrir, seul ou en groupe, les différents lieux où la famille Martin a vécu, en participant à un évènement, en vous recueillant dans la chapelle ou en suivant les pas des saints époux Martin à travers la ville.

slide précédenteslide suivante
Bandeau du Jubilé

Qu’est-ce qu’un Jubilé ?

Un jubilé est une grande fête dans l’Église catholique qui célèbre un évènement, un anniversaire particulier.
C’est le Pape Boniface VIII qui inaugura le premier jubilé de l’histoire en l’année 1300. L’histoire montre avec quel enthousiasme le peuple de Dieu a toujours vécu les années jubilaires, voyant en elles une circonstance où l’invitation de Jésus à la conversion se fait entendre de manière plus intense. Nous nous souviendrons particulièrement du dernier jubilé de la Miséricorde (2015-2016) ou encore celui de l’An 2000.
De la même manière que le Pape inaugure des Jubilés pour l’Église universelle, chaque évêque peut le faire, à l’occasion d’une fête particulière, dans son diocèse.

Pourquoi un Jubilé à Alençon ?

Alençon est tout d’abord le lieu du mariage des saints Louis et Zélie : après s’être rencontrés à Alençon sur le pont de Sarthe au printemps 1858, ils se marient à l’hôtel de ville le 12 juillet à 22 heures et à minuit à l’église Notre-Dame (aujourd’hui Basilique).
C’est ensuite à Alençon que sont nés les neuf enfants de la famille Martin. C’est enfin le lieu de vie familiale jusqu’au décès de Zélie, en 1877.

L’Église a voulu donner les saints Louis et Zélie Martin en exemple à tous les couples et les familles d’aujourd’hui : c’est pour cette raison qu’ils ont été canonisés par le Pape François, il y a tout juste deux ans, le 18 octobre 2015. Il s’agit des premiers époux canonisés ensemble dans l’histoire de l’Église.

Ce jubilé du 160e anniversaire de leur mariage donnera l’opportunité aux fidèles de découvrir la vie des saints Louis et Zélie sur les lieux où ils ont vécu. Les pèlerins pourront recevoir les grâces spéciales liées à chaque année jubilaire.

Ce jubilé permettra aussi de faire davantage connaître les saints Louis et Zélie. S’ils sont les parents de sainte Thérèse de Lisieux, l’illustre « plus grande sainte des temps modernes » (saint Pape Pie X), le peuple chrétien est invité à découvrir plus avant la vie de ce couple encore trop peu connu.

Recevoir l’indulgence plénière

L’indulgence plénière est une grâce offerte par Dieu pour soi-même ou un défunt. Il sera possible de la recevoir au Sanctuaire d’Alençon durant l’année jubilaire. Elle est réparation, effacement du désordre causé par le péché.

Pour la recevoir, le fidèle doit être en état de grâce, être disposé intérieurement au détachement complet du péché, s’être confessé, avoir reçu la Sainte Eucharistie, prier aux intentions du Pape et accomplir un pieux pèlerinage au Sanctuaire d’Alençon pendant l’année jubilaire.

Aujourd’hui

Derniers échos

Voir toutes les nouvelles